Online dictionary in Linear Perspective for the McLuhan Institute for Culture and Technology (Toronto, Canada)

Image 1 : Da Vinci’s use of One Point Perspective

In the mid-90s, as an Erasmus student in Art history at the University of Siena, I participated in an ambitious online project in Linear Perspective led by my professor, at the time, Dr Kim Veltman (a renowned Leonardo da Vinci scholar) visiting professor from the McLuhan Institute for Culture and Technology. For this project, several International students (I was one of them) translated Dr Veltman’s online dictionary in perspective into various languages (his ambition was to translate it into as many living languages as possible). After studying and researching a vast number of sources for approximately 2 years, I submitted my Greek translation to the Institute and was awarded a distinction for it. As the dictionary is no longer shared online, it was suggested to me I share it on Academia.com trying to preserve it and save it. It can now be found here: https://www.academia.edu/106008348/Online_dictionary_in_linear_perspective_Greek_version_

Through those years I was working and translating the dictionary, and much later on, as well, I made two loyal and precious friends: I had the pleasure of enjoying Dr Veltman’s warm and caring friendship until the very end of his life less than 2 years ago. He had been a loyal and supportive friend, as I had been for him too, for a bit less than 30 years. And I became an even closer friend with my classmate and roommate, art historian Beatrice Jockusch, until this very day. For me, this dictionary played an important role in many ways and, ultimately, opened the door to Goldsmiths College and my Diploma and then the MA in Art history.

Image 2 : Perspective theory (Filippo Brunelleschi)

Anyone interested in Dr Kim Veltman’s work, can find some information here : https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Kim-Veltman and here : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kim_H._Veltman

Σχολιάστε